Tuesday, December 21, 2010

More trains to stop at Coimbatore Junction - The Hindu

With the commissioning of the Coimbatore – Irugur second line, the Salem Railway Division has plans to re-route all trains via Coimbatore Junction.
A proposal in this regard has been sent to authorities concerned and an announcement in this regard is expected any time.
At present, a number of trains, including specials and weekly trains were skipping the Coimbatore Junction and running via Podanur – Irugur – Podanur section, said Salem Divisional Railway Manager P.N. Ram, here on Monday.
Mr. Ram along with Additional Divisional Railway Manager P. Kalimuthu told reporters that earlier, some of the trains were operated via Irugur – Podanur – Irugur section because of the single line.
The announcement on re-routing of trains was expected during the release of the railway time table next year.
To Kerala
This move would help Coimbatore connect with destinations in Kerala and Karnataka and Chennai more easily.
The number of berths available for passengers from Coimbatore is likely to go up. Coimbatore Junction will see more night trains halting there. the Coimbatore – Chennai Duranto Express and the Coimbatore – Tirupati Inter-city Express, announced in the Railway Budget this year, was likely to be introduced before the end of this fiscal.
To a query on increasing the number of coaches in the Coimbatore – Nagercoil Express, Mr. Ram said the division was only waiting for allotment of additional coaches.
The officials said that a proposal has been sent again for a night express train on the Coimbatore – Bangalore section.
Amrita Express
Another proposal is for a train from Coimbatore to Thiruvananthapuram or the extension of the Thiruvananthapuram – Palakkad Amrita Express to Coimbatore.
One more train in the Coimbatore – Chennai – Coimbatore sector during weekends has been proposed, they said.
A train on the Coimbatore – Rameswaram section (via Erode – Karur), one to Shenkottah and another to Chennai via Vridhachalam too have been proposed.

No comments:

Post a Comment